Orange Snowskin with Custard Filling

A lot of mixed feelings recently. The demise of a colleague and along with this incident, it came accompanied with a string of thoughts and reflections, seeing the truth of human being.

Probably because of the busy working schedule, I wasn’t in the mood to make any mooncakes, not in the mood to bake anything. I just want to immerse myself in the world of HK drama and not think of any other things. If not that I have already bought the ingredients, I may just buy mooncakes this year.  It was only till yesterday that I push myself to pick up the new Y3K Snowskin Mooncakes book I bought weeks ago and saw the custard filling. I’ve to start somewhere.

The custard is very soft, rolling it is like rolling an egg yolk. Unlike the normal lotus paste, this must be taken cold, possibly frozen and leave out to thaw for a few minutes.

Snowskin
80g commerical koufen
30g cooked cornflour
40g icing sugar
30g shortening
30g liquid glucose
125 – 150ml water
1/2 tsp orange essence

Method :
1. Combine koufen, corn flour and icing sugar together with shortening, glucose and water to form a smooth dough. Set aside to use.

Custard Filling
40g custard powder
10g milk powder
125ml fresh milk
50 ml water
40g caster sugar
20g butter
1/4 tsp vanilla essence

Method :
1. Combine custard powder, milk powder, fresh milk, water and caster sugar in a pot.
2. Cook over low heat, and keep stirring at all times till paste has a thickened consistency.
3. Turn off heat and add in butter. Mix well and leave paste to cool and store in fridge overnight.

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Festive Goodies, Mooncakes. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Orange Snowskin with Custard Filling

  1. rachael says:

    Hi… I have a question on the ping pei recipe above, what is the use of the liquid glucose in the skin recipe ? is it necessary to use the liquid glucose?

    Thank you.

  2. Mike says:

    Hi,

    I am not sure if I can ask it here but it would be great if you can help me in identifying some of the ingredients. Does these ingredients below have different names?

    commerical koufen
    cooked cornflour

    If I cant find any shortening, can I use butter or lard?

  3. Michelle says:

    Hi Elyn

    May I know which brand of the oven are you using, your bake is so nicely bake?

    I’m sourcing for one now.

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

