Matcha Sablé Cookies

I finally baked! Much to the dismay that I was a bit lost … I have told myself the beginning of this week that I will bake this weekend so I guess this is a task that I push myself to meet. Back to the “lost” part … I’m lucky that the bakes turn out good! better than what I have expected … since it’s a no-fail brownies and green tea sables. Colleagues and myself were munching on a bar of Kit Kat Crunch right after lunch on Friday and we now make sure we eat well! So I thought wouldn’t it be better if it’s home-made so here comes the idea of Brownies especially when I have plenty of chocolates and butter to use before going to the bin.

Next is the Matcha Sablé Cookies. They’re good! I baked mine a little longer so they are on the crispy side and I like the refreshing taste of Green Tea. I prepared the dough a day head (the cookie dough can be kept in the freezer for up to 2 months) and bake them the next day, how convenient!

Matcha Sablé Cookies
(from Okashi – Keiko Ishida)

240g plain flour – chilled
15g green tea powder
150gm unsalted butter (room temperature)
130g icing sugar
a pinch of salt
2 egg yolks
Granulated Sugar
1 Egg White
Green tea leaves (Optional)

Method
1. Sift flour and green tea powder twice, set it aside.
2. Cream butter, icing sugar and salt until soft and creamy.
3. Add egg yolks and mix well.
4. Add flour and green tea powder mixture and fold in with a spatula.
5. Cover dough with plastic wrap and chill in the refrigerator for about 15 mins.
6. Divide dough in half and place both portions in 2 large pieces of parchment paper.
7. Shape into logs about 3.5cm in diameter. Wrap logs with parchment paper and refrigerate until firm.
8. If not using immediately, wrap with cling film and freeze.
9. Preheat oven to 150 degrees. Cut logs into 7mm thick rounds. Dip edges in granulated sugar.
10. Place cookies on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper.
11. Brush a little egg white over the cookies and scatter a few green tea leaves on top if desired.
12. Bake for about 25 mins, remove and leave to cool on wire rack before serving.
13. Store cookies in airtight container at room temperature for up to 10 days

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Cookies. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Matcha Sablé Cookies

  1. crustabakes says:

    The cookies look so uniformed in shapes and sizes. I have never tried green tea sables. This is going on my to do list. THanks for sharing!

  2. the cookies look delicious, I like the sugar coating 😛

  3. HeartyBakes says:

    Love the rustic look of those cookies and the crunch from the sugar coating. I like the first shot very much, the sugar looks like some crystals.

  4. Qomo says:

    Hi, noticed you tried keiko ishida’s recipes. Do you happen to know where to get egg white powder from? Gim Hin Lee & PH don’t stock it; dont know where else to check? Would be grateful if you know where–many thanks!

  5. Jasmine says:

    hi (: may i ask, when the recipe calls for 3g egg white powder, i just replace it with 3g meringue powder? they are the same? thank you!

Leave a Reply

