CNY Goodies : Osmanthus Cookies


Happy New Year to all my lovely visitors!

I bake some Yuzu Cupcakes last weekend but no time to edit/write about it but have decided to skip that and jump into this one first. It’s Osmanthus again! I have done Osmanthus Snowskin Mooncakes and Osmanthus Jelly before. I didn’t realise we are that close to Chinese New Year till I hear the usual ching ching chong chong songs over the radio. I will be really late this year since I have not plan when to start baking and most importantly what to bake! But I still grab a bag of pineapple paste from Sun Lik when I went to replenish my supplies.

Love the light fragrance of Osmanthus that accompanied the crunchy cookie! I think it perfectly fit in the menu of Chinese New Year Cookies.

I have some extra osmanthus and if you want to try making these cookies, leave a note here (for 1 recipient) and I will mail it to you 🙂

Ingredients (Make about 50 cookies)
50g Butter
60g Icing sugar
1 egg (beaten)
80g plain flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
40g almond powder
1 tbsp dry osmanthus

Method :
1. Preheat oven to 150 degrees.
2. Cream butter and icing sugar till light and fluffy.
3. Slowly add in egg bit by bit and ensure it mix well.
4. Add in half of dry ingredients follow by half of dry osmanthus. Repeat with the other half of dry ingredients and osmanthus.
5. Chill dough for 20 mins.

~ Break time ~ Do you know how a clean shower cap can come into help here? Use it to cover the bowl that contain the dough and save on cling wrap! I do think it is quite wasting to use cling wrap once and throw away so I bought this for the purpose. By the way, mine is not a shower cap, it is design to cover mixing bowl 😛

6. Bring dough out from fridge (which is still relatively soft) and flour the plastic sheet before rolling the dough out in between.
7. The dough will be soft and sticky so flour your cutter generously.
8. Cut into desired shape.
9. Bake for 25 to 30 mins.
10. Leave to cool completely before storing in air tight jars.

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in CNY, Cookies, Festive Goodies and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to CNY Goodies : Osmanthus Cookies

  1. Jasmine says:

    hi (: may i know where to buy osmanthus? i have never try it before but you sure tempt me to try it and yours look really NICE (: (:
    plus, the cute hello kitty cover for mixing bowl! do you sell it? (:

  2. Love melody, love baking says:

    Hi, came across your blog by chance… I just started on baking, and would like to try out your recipe on osmanthus cookie if I can have some of it… Thanks :)))

  3. Lynn says:

    I’d love for some osmanthus! I saw another blogger make those osmanthus jellies, they look really good!

  4. Esther says:

    What a great idea to use the osmanthus into cookies. Thks for sharing ^_^

  5. I have a packet of Osmanthus, may be I shd give this recipe a try since the cookies looks nice.

  6. The shower cap is a brilliant idea. Thanks for the tip!

  7. wendyywy says:

    First time seeing osmanthus in cookies.
    Should smell very nice.

  8. YS says:

    Lovely pics, i can’t wait to try it out for 2012 CNY! Just wanna ask do u think it is possible to substitute Osthmenthus with Lavender?

  9. Susan See says:

    I hv a big tub of osmanthus flower & was wondering what I can do with it except jelly. Thanks for the receipe.

Leave a Reply

