Yuzu Butter Cake

This post was suppose to appear earlier but there wasn’t a good picture hence it’s delay till now. Yes, I like this recipe that I’ve bake twice within 2 weeks. I love the fine crumbs and how it is not “heavy” despite it is a butter cake. And this time I’ve reduce the sugar to 190g which I’m happy with it. (The first time when I use 210g, I find it too sweet).

My Chinese New Year last bake is always a butter cake, somehow it’s been a tradition to have butter cake on the first day of new year as breakfast. I was trying to be lazy and told mum that we probably don’t need a butter cake with all the food around – cookies and the vegetarian luo hai chai. Well, something just feel amiss so there I go and bake this Yuzu Butter Cake.

Recipe is from Ju. I used a 8″ round tin and the cake rise very well, about 40-50% more. Do note the top tend to brown well so do tent the cake if necessary.

Recipe
195g plain flour
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
170g butter, softened
190g sugar
1 large egg, plus one large egg yolk (beaten)
2 tbsp Jupe Yuzu Paste
12 tbsp whole milk

1. Preheat oven to 190 degrees celsius.
2. Butter and line a 8-inch* cake pan.
3. In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder and salt.
3. Using a mixer on medium speed, cream butter and sugar until fluffy for about about 2 minutes.
4. Add in beaten egg bit by bit, followed by Yuzu Paste. If the mixture curdles, just add 1 tbsp of flour and continue mixing.
5. On low speed, add flour mixture in 3 parts, alternating with milk.
6. Switch mixer to medium and beat for 10 to 15 seconds, just until batter appears uniform. The batter should look thick and creamy.
7. Pour batter into prepared pan and smooth top with spatula or knife.
8. Bake for about 40 minutes, or until it reaches a dark-gold color and an inserted cake tester comes out clean.
9. Let to rest in pan for 5 minutes, then remove to a cake stand or platter. Allow cake to completely cool before slicing.

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking, Butter Cakes, Cakes. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Yuzu Butter Cake

  1. Irene Low says:

    Hi Elyn

    Any particular brand of Yuzu paste you use? Korean type?

    Thanks

  2. I love butter cake, this looks soft and moist. It is traditional for my PIL to have butter cake during CNY but not from me, my elder SIL will always bake as give-away since 2 yrs ago.

Leave a Reply

