Yuzu Clear Water Sponge Cake

I was looking at what to bake and finally decide on a Zebra cake to realise that I did not have ovalette in stock (I dun usually use that). I’ve read many good reviews on this Clear Water Sponge Cake (which water is not any part of the ingredient), the name probably came about for the lightness of the cake texture.

And the sponge cake is really good! Despite baking for about 14 pieces, Mum was chiding me why I didn’t bake more! The texture is light yet moist and so appetising that you can easily have 3 at a go. I added some Yuzu for flavour and when the baking time is up, I left it in the oven for another 10 mins with the doors half open to let it cool before bringing them directly out to room temperature so somehow the cake din shrink as much.

The original recipe is from here

Ingredients :
Part A –
3 egg yolks
1 whole egg
50gm corn oil
1 tbsp Yuzu Paste (Optional)

Part B –
50g cake flour or top flour

Part C –
3 egg whites

Part D –
50g caster sugar

Method :
1. Beat (A) till well mixed.
2. Sift in (B) and mix well.
3. Whisk (C) egg whites till frothy and add in (D) sugar, till stiff peak stage.
4.  Bring out 1/3 of the egg white to the egg yolk/flour mixture and fold in lightly.
5a. If you’re using a KA mixer, I added 1/3 mixture in step 4 back to the egg white mixture and using the balloon whisk on the “stir” or lowest speed to combine for 5 secs. Repeat the above step for another 2 times.
5b. You could fold in the mixture manually in another 2 rounds.
6. Spoon mixture to about 60% full.
7. Bake at 170 degrees for 18-20 mins.

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Cakes, Sponge Cakes. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Yuzu Clear Water Sponge Cake

  1. Stephanie says:

    Hi Elyn, now I have an alternative recipe to make use of my Yuzu paste. Thx for this zesty one 🙂

  2. I can see why your mum got on your case for not making more of these – it looks so moist and delicious!

    One question though, where did you get Yuzu paste from?

  3. Mag says:

    What is Yuzu paste? Where do I buy it?

  4. Cookie says:

    Thanks for sharing the recipe. It looks like another die-die must bake!

  5. Victoria says:

    this looks absolutely delicious! Thanks for sharing this recipe as i was looking for something to try and this recipe will be it! I don’t have corn oil, can i substitute butter and would i use the same amount as the corn oil? thanks!

  6. Eileen @ Hundred Eighty Degrees says:

    I like soft and moist bakes. I’ve bookmarked this and will bake this as soon as I get the Yuzu paste. Thanks for sharing.

  7. lazymummy says:

    Hi

    I’m a new reader, your cake looks wonderful. Thanks for sharing, will surely try this soon.

Leave a Reply

