Salted Egg Yolk Mooncakes

I love how pretty the egg yolks look!

Here’s another variation of mooncake to try but instead of sweetness, this is savoury! I first tried this mooncake made by K, she highly recommend me to give this different recipe a try. The filling is a mixture of  butter cake and salted egg yolk. With the snowskin slightly on the sweet side and banana flavoured, the salted filling did give a whole new dimension to mooncake.

The mixture of butter cake and salted egg yolk has a slightly sanded texture and can be easily rolled into a ball. I make them into egg yolk size and wrap around with Lotus Paste. I will recommend to make this type of mooncake small and the size you seen here is merely 25g.

Ingredients :
100g butter cake
3 salted egg yolk  (steamed and leave to cool)

Method
Blend both ingredients together and set aside to use.

Note
The original recipe call for 4 egg yolks to 100gm butter cake which I’m afraid it may be too strong hence I’ve cut down the proportion which I thought it’s just nice now.

Recipe adapted from Alan Ooi – Love.Mooncakes

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Festive Goodies, Mooncakes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Salted Egg Yolk Mooncakes

  1. Egg Yolk says:

    Ooh.. I really love the Snowskin Mooncake. I’ll try that recipe! =)

  2. Ling says:

    Hi there,

    Can I check where did you get your salted egg yolks from?? Didn’t wanna buy the whole egg just to get the yolk!!

    Thanks.

Leave a Reply

