Gula Melaka Chiffon Cake

Gula Melaka Chiffon-1

The thought of fragrant Gula Melaka just came into my mind so here’s my version of Gula Melaka Chiffon! Chiffon is a favourite in my family and it’s the type of cake that I love to bake, simple and easy. Went to the regular baking supplies shop and spotted 2 types of Gula Melaka available, one which is the cheaper one packed in a plastic bag and the other one came in brown “leaf” packaging which is almost the triple the price. I rem buying the cheaper one and it has no fragrant taste at all.

Gula Melaka Chiffon-2

 

I went through a few recipes with different proportion of gula melaka and coconut milk, read through the comments that they aren’t fragrant enough and didn’t know it’s a gula maleka chiffon. In the end I adapted and use my own. It didn’t disappoint me, texture is soft yet with a structure. The aftertaste of the gula melaka is just so wonderful!

Gula Melaka Chiffon-3
Aside from melting the gula melaka with the coconut milk, I chopped some gula melaka and added to the batter so you could see the brown spots, they added moisture to the cake and also additional fragrant when you bite into it.

For 7″ Round Chiffon Mould
Meringue Batter
3 egg whites
1/4 tsp cream of tartar
30g sugar

Egg Yolk
80g gula melaka
60ml coconut milk
3 strips of Pandan leaves, wash and snipped
3 egg yolks
2 tbsp oil
70g Top Flour

Method :
1. Chopped up gula melaka and bring to to boil with coconut milk and pandan leaves. Leave to cool.
2. Whisk egg yolk, oil, top flour and gula melaka together and set aside.
3. Whisk egg whites with cream of tartar and add sugar gradually till stiff peak stage.
4. Bring 1/3 of the meringue to the egg yolk mixture and fold in well before combining all together.
5. Bake at 175 degrees for 35 mins.

 

 

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Gula Melaka Chiffon Cake

  1. Hazel says:

    It’s a great recipe. Everybody loves it. My gula Melaka pieces which I sprinkled all sank to the button. Still nice. But how do I make sure it’s distributed throughout the cake ? Coat flour ? Grateful for ur advice. Thks.

    • Elyn says:

      Thank you for trying the recipe and glad that you love it! I’ve not tried coating the gula melaka pieces with flour but that certainly make sense, could give it a try! Happy baking!

  2. Samantha says:

    Baked using your recipe and it turned out so nice! If only I could share a picture of it with you here. I tweaked your recipe a little, used coconut oil and brown sugar instead. Forgot to add bits of gula melaka into the batter but nevertheless, it turned out nice, tall and ‘bouncy’. Thank you for sharing your wonderful recipe again. xx Samantha

Leave a Reply

