Craft – Crochet & Amigurumi

accessoriesYou din see it wrong! For a food blog, this is probably one of rare time you see something that it’s not edible BUT it’s still related to food (watch out for my next post that is related to cupcake!)

I pick up crochet again recently after looking for a cover for my iPad AIR. And after looking around, I decide I will make my own!

iPad Cover

With the crochet needle and yarn on hand, I venture into Amigurumi after seeing how cute they are! Youtube is certainly a good channel to learn visually and for crochet, it really help to see “action”! My first baby owl Amigurumi was “born”, I’ve since make a few of them to giveaway! This free pattern is available from Josephine Wu.

IMG_8829_R

A little history of amigurumi from Wikipedia. Amigurumi (編みぐるみ?, lit. crocheted or knitted stuffed toy) is the Japanese art of knitting or crocheting small stuffed animals and anthropomorphic creatures. The word is derived from a combination of the Japanese words ami, meaning crocheted or knitted, and nuigurumi, meaning stuffed doll. Amigurumi are typically animals, but can include artistic renderings or inanimate objects endowed with anthropomorphic features, as is typical in Japanese culture. Amigurumi first started appealing to the masses in 2003.

Look out for my next post on my next project and my journey into the crochet world! I can’t wait for my next box of yarn and more tools to arrive, in the meantime let me get back to the kitchen and start baking all the chinese new year cookies!

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Craft - Crochet and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

