Chinese New Year Cookies : Pineapple Tarts

IMG_8982-RThe good old pineapple tarts. I remember start my pineapple tarts journey with the open tarts and move on to the closed tarts. Finally this year after completing all my orders, I manage my precious 2 trays of the pineapple tarts. I like the crispy tart base and the slightly chew pineapple filling once it’s baked.

About pineapple pastry, the foundation ingredients is good butter, use the best you could afford, I’ve been sticking with non other than SCS Salted Butter this while, I start “saving” them when it’s near to Chinese New Year and there is a promo going on. Also use good vanilla extract and not essence, a little goes a long way. I personally prefer to use bean paste, just love the little bean pods!

Flour used will affect the texture of your pastry as it’s a main component. Take a good look and feel the texture of the flour the next time you buy from different brand!

A little on your tart pastry – it’s not a dough so do not knead it. Once you’ve all the ingredients in, just combine to form a dough, lightly knead it just a few times to ensure the ingredients are well distributed. And it’s alright to prepare your dough in advance, once the dough is ready, I put them into a plastic bag and keep them in the fridge (not chiller, not freezer compartment if you are using it within 2 days). Bring the dough out a few hours before you start using them.

IMG_8985-R

For now I have given all trays a good wash and ready to keep while I go back to my small quantity baking!

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

