Fruit Pastry

Strawberry

I think the cut strawberry are so cute that I couldn’t resist dedicating a picture to it. Use the cookie cutter I bought from Hong Kong to cut the strawberry. Surprisingly, these strawberries smell really nice and also not sour. I’m not a fan of strawberries or any fruits that is sour but these are just nice. The balance of the strawberry bits and cherries are mixed into the batter.

Cherries

A very close fren of mine gave me some cherries the other day I met her for lunch. Those are big and sweet, pretty ex too at 300gm cost S$10 plus but most importantly, it’s the thought that touches me most. And all these fruits goes into ….

Fruit Pastry 02

Fruit Pastry! It’s a very popular cake in IK (a forum) and I’ve read so many reviews that it’s very nice. I took the opportunity to buy these fruits when at Giant this morning.

Fruit Pastry 03

The cross section of the cake, filled with cherries and strawberries bits. The aroma of the cake filled the house during the baking session. It’s soft and moist.

Fruit Pastry 01

I wanted to bring a whole cake back to office so I’ve to make another one, right? The cherries doesnt look too good when it’s bake so I put strawberries this time.

Fruit Pastry 04

Fruit Pastry
You need
210gm flour
180gm sugar + 1 tablespoon for fruits
100gm salted butter
2 tablespoons or 50 gm sour cream
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 teaspoon lemon or orange peel
3 eggs
Fruits (apricots, peaches, pears, cherries, plums, orange, pineapple, or any other fruit not to juicy)

Wat to do
1. In a strainer place the prepared fruits (pit removed and cut in not too big pieces) and sprinkle them with 1 tablespoon of sugar.
2. Preheat oven to 350 F (180 C).
3. Beat butter, sour cream and sugar together.
4. Add eggs one at a time.
5. Add vanilla and lemon/orange peel.
6. Fold in sifted flour and baking powder till well mixed.
7. Mix in fruits bits and pour batter into prepared greased tin.
8. Level the batter and add in cut fruits, do not press down the fruits down.
9. Bake for 60-70 mins.
10. Leave to cool on cooling rack.
11. Sprinkle with icing sugar if desired.

Baking Tin :
– I use a 7″ round springform tin so the cake is higher.

Source : Vi

Notes :
– I modify the recipe slightly by using cake flour and also reducing the amount of sugar (from 200g)
– You may want to cover the top in the last 15 mins of baking so it’s not too brown.
– For LG SolarDom oven, I bake at 170 degrees for 55 mins.

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking, Baking ingredients, Cakes. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Fruit Pastry

  1. ovenhaven says:

    I love the strawberry hearts! They look so pretty. The cross-section looks really moist and delicious. Great job, Elyn!

  2. Ida says:

    Elyn,

    Thanks for the cake. Taste wonderful!

  3. pansy says:

    dear elyn,

    your strawberry hearts is beautiful!

    it’s been some time since i popped by your blog. your cakes look wonderful and suddenly i’m thinking of your pineapple tart again 🙂 i hope you will do another bake sale during CNY next year.

    ^_^

  4. Elyn says:

    Hi Ovenhaven,

    Yea … I also feel the strawberries look really pretty, I think star shape will be nice too! This is a good recipe, do give it a try but do note if you reduce the sugar to 150gm, some of them have encounter a drier texture.

  5. Elyn says:

    Hi Ida,

    Thank you 🙂 Yours is very nice too, am surprise the apple taste good in this way.

  6. Elyn says:

    Hey Pansy,

    Thank you 🙂 So how have you been with yr baking?

  7. pansy says:

    i have been really busy at work recently, and haven’t been baking at all! unless you consider mango pudding baking :p

    seeing your post the other day made me want to bake again. just got back from tangs/taka/robinson. was looking for some ramekins (no luck. they have so VERY expensive ones – $12.50 for 1!! by le C something). crossing my fingers that i can find some at phoon huat.

    elyn, have you seen any small size (5″ or 4″) baking pan/springform/cake rings? the 6″ pan is still too big for my family and i spied some lovely small cakes at taka basement today! hehe.. i can’t help but hope to find those sizes.

    if you see them, can you help me buy or let me know please?

    many thanks!

  8. Elyn says:

    Hi Pansy, have you tried Pantry Magic for the ramekins? I last checked and thought the price is pretty reasonable.

    For the small cake tins, I thought I saw them @ Phoon Huat too or Gim Him Lee may have it. I notice Daiso sometimes stock the smaller baking pans, do take a look. I’ll let u know if I drop by and chanced upon them.

Leave a comment