Black Sesame Pound Cake

Black Sesame Pound Cake-2

I’ve a small packet of 50g Black Sesame Powder that I bought from Hong Kong from my last trip. Have always try to visit baking supplies shop when I’m overseas to check out the interesting ingredients and gadgets that they may have. I do like Hong Kong baking supplies shop, there is a lot of ingredients they repack to smaller quantity which is great for a one-time bake.

Black Sesame Pound Cake-1

 

I wasn’t able to imagine how the cake will taste like and so here is the conclusion – nutty flavour that well balance with the “butter flavor”.

Black Sesame Pound Cake-4

 

 

 

Ingredients :
50g salted butter
50g icing sugar, sifted
1 egg
70g cake flour
30g black sesame powder
1/2 tsp baking powder
50g milk

Method :
1. Cream butter and icing sugar well.
2. Add in egg a little at time and ensure it’s well beaten after each addition.
3. Sift together cake flour, baking powder and black sesame powder and fold in lightly.
4. Fold in milk
5. Bake in a pre-heated oven at 170 degrees for 20-25 mins.

Recipe adapted from 新手也会做的磅蛋糕

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Black Sesame Pound Cake

  1. mydearbakes says:

    Very impressive! This is such a wonder bake! =D

  2. Valerie says:

    Hello, thanks for this really awesome recipe, i just tried it!:) however, my cake didn’t rise.. Would you suggest increasing the amt of baking powder or flour? it tasted really good nonetheless, thanks!:)

Leave a comment