Mini Baked Mooncakes

I’m bumping on to social media so remember to like/share my FB page – esjoie!

I am only lucky once with mini baked mooncakes and remember last year the skin was quite hard even after a few days. After a test bake this year, I’m definitely more ready to do a bigger batch of 31 pieces x 58g each.

I feel the traditional baked mooncakes looked best with the traditional patterns, somehow those cute rabbits, flowers doesnt pop up well. Somehow I realise I only have small mooncake moulds like 55g and doesnt have bigger ones. So it’s going to be shopping time again!

Join me at https://www.facebook.com/ShopnBake!

My recommended proportion of skin and filling is always 30% of skin to 70% filling.

Ingredients:
Hong Kong Flour 116g
Golden Syrup 66g
Peanut Oil 30g
Alkaline Water 1/2 tsp

Egg Wash:
1 Egg Yolk
1/4 tsp Oil
1/4 tsp Milk

Method:
1. Combine golden syrup, oil and alkaline water together well using a small whisk.
2. Add in sifted Hong Kong Flour (I’m using Prima brand).
3. Combine to form a dough and transfer to cling wrap and wrap well.
4. You will find the dough is sticky and very soft now which is perfectly fine cos it will stiffen up once the flour absorbs the liquid ingredient.
5. Leave the dough aside for 4 hrs.
6. Start to wrap your mooncakes as per usual.
7. Lightly spray on the mooncakes (not direct, a 90° angle so the droplets doesnt hit the mooncakes surface directly).
8. Bake at 160° for 10 mins.
9. Leave to cool for 15 mins.
10. Apply egg wash lightly with a brush.
11. Bake for another 160° for 10 mins.

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment