Walnut Mooncake

I was quite resistant towards another type of mooncakes. To me, it’s baked or snowskin or agar agar but the 1st taste of Walnut Mooncakes handmade by Ida was so good that I told myself to remember to make it this year! The crust is so “酥” and as I made them smaller, it’s easier to eat them too. I made about 18 mooncakes (12 White Lotus Paste + 7 Pandan Paste) and receive very good reviews from family members and colleagues. Do give it a try!


Ingredients A
25g icing sugar
25g shortening
110g salted butter
1/4 tsp vanilla extract
1/4 tsp ammonium (can be omitted)

Ingredients B
1/2 egg

Ingredients C
190g plain flour
13g custard powder
1/4 tsp baking soda

Method :
1. Cream Ingredients A together till slight white and well mixed.
2. Gradually add in egg and mix well.
3. Sift Ingredients C together and add into mixture and form a dough. Do not knead.
4. Leave the dough in a plastic bag or cling wrap and leave in the fridge overnight or for a few days.
5. Weigh out the skin to 20g and 25g filling
6. Wrap lotus paste in the skin and decorate with Walnut (I stick walnuts to the side of the dough).
7. Apply egg wash and bake at 160ºC for 10 mins.
8.  Bring out and leave to cool for 10 mins.
9. Apply egg wash again and bake for another 15 mins.

Note :
– Feel free to adjust the proportion of skin and filling. I personally love the crust hence I didn’t mind thicker skin.

Recipe adapted from http://bakingmum.blogspot.com/2008/09/walnut-mooncakes.html

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking, Festive Goodies, Mooncakes. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Walnut Mooncake

  1. Janine says:

    Wow this looks good! I just wanted to ask about this step: “5. Weigh out the skin to 20g and 25g filling” it means weigh out how much skin and how much lotus filling? thanks!

  2. Stephanie says:

    Hi Elyn, can u share what is the brand of the shortening u use? Also where is a gd place to get the lotus paste? Thx.

Leave a comment