Baked Mini Donuts

Donuts 01

I mentioned in my last post that I found a trial and tested bake donut recipe so I ordered a silicone donut tray. Well, I din wait for that to come and gotten a non-stick one today. But I wasn’t lucky with the recipe, followed the recipe to the T, made 2 attempts and yield same result. The first time I did a full recipe and send half to bake which the batter was more like a palible dough than a liquid consistency, I had to scape the dough to the batter tin than pouring in as described. The top layer was really ugly! It wasn’t smooth like a donut at all! It also din rise as much as I thought it is. I thought something is wrong with my baking powder and went on to buy a new bottle. So the 2nd time I make half the recipe and double-check the recipe again and again, I still din get that liquid consitency. I send it to bake and it did rise a little but the texture is the same, it’s pretty hard.

Donuts 02

I decided to make another attempt (must justify the cost of buying the tray, right?) but change the flour type, when I finish putting the wet and dry ingredients together I had the same dough like consistency. I guess probably I’m going to get the same result so I decided to be more daring and add 1/2 egg more and a little more milk & melted butter. Finally I got the thick liquid consistency! Send it to bake and at least now it looks like a donut! As for the texture, it’s also much better than the previous one thou not as soft as I thought it will be.  I can’t really describe the texture, a cross between cake and bread? With the tray on hand, I look forward to try another recipe that I’ve got.  I do have a fun time decorating them 🙂

Donuts 03

 

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Baked Mini Donuts

  1. Jam says:

    Hi there! Your donuts look really cute! I’ve dropped by your blog a couple of times and I’m really impressed at the stuff you make. I’ve just set up my own little blog and I hope you don’t mind me putting a link to yours. Thanks!

  2. Hi Elyn, your mini-donuts are very cute! My friend has shared with me a few baked donuts recipe…but I have yet to try it.

  3. Elyn says:

    Hi Jam, thanks for dropping by 🙂 I visited your blog too and feel it’s very nice of you to bake something for charity sale 🙂

  4. Elyn says:

    Hi SH, I do think they are very cute. Each donut is no bigger than 5cm but the texture need to improve, I’m trying out a new recipe today 🙂

  5. ida says:

    Good try Elyn…. Dun worry abt not having all the baked donuts finished… u can send it into my tummy… LOL

  6. small cookie says:

    Elyn, this donut size is really cute. Hopefully you find THE recipe you wanted someday.

  7. Elyn says:

    Ida … yes, I make another batch today and it’s closer. Will save one for you 🙂

  8. Elyn says:

    Edith, ya … this size is so cute! very good for kiddos. I tested another recipe today thou it’s not exactly like the fried version but am happy wif it 🙂

  9. tess says:

    i love donts.

    kisses.

  10. Summer says:

    Hi, where did you order your donut tray? Would like to get one too! 🙂 TIA.

  11. Elyn says:

    Hi Summer, I bought mine from Sun Lik, Seah Street, behihnd Raffles Hotel.

  12. Summer says:

    Is there any online ordering system? Are they able to the deliver the item by mail? Thanks.

  13. Elyn says:

    Hi Summer, they don’t so you have to go down personally. Do note they close on Sunday.

Leave a comment