Lovely Kuih Baulu

kuih-baulu

I bought the normal metal Kuih Baulu tray (not those heavy metal type) last year! But I didn’t have time to try it then so I’m pretty set that I shld do it this year. I am not sure how a good Kuih Baulu is but most of them that I try is hard on the outside and dry in the inside.

I’m using Fenying‘s recipe this round and I do like the texture, it’s slightly crisp on the outside and spongy inside, it isn’t dry which makes it easier to eat. As the mould is fairly small so they came out petite and cute! I made 3 variations here – the normal one, one with chocolate chip and lastly I added dried glazed cherries inside for the festive season!

Kuih Baulu
Ingredients A:
175g egg
150g sugar

Ingredients B: (sifted)
140g cake flour (I used top flour)
20g rice flour
2.5g double action baking powder

Ingredients C:
1/4 tsp vanilla extract
50gmelted butter

Method:
1. put eggs into a mixing bowl. Use high speed to whisk until frothy. Add in sugar slowly.
Whisk mixure until very light and fluffy (about 20mins)
2. Fold flour slowly into egg mixure in one direction. Add in vanilla oil and melted butter
3. Pour into greased trays
4. Bake in a pre-heated oven at 200ºC 10/15mins till golden brown
5. Remove kuih baulu from tray

Yields 50 pcs.

Recipe adapted from 我的厨房笔记

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Baking, Cakes, CNY, Festive Goodies. Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Lovely Kuih Baulu

  1. Hi Elyn, I love all the cny goodies that you have made. They all look very pretty! Thanks for the tips on the pineapple tarts. Although I seldom leave comments here, I have been faithfully reading your blog all the while. 🙂

    Wishing you an Ox-picious New Year!!

  2. Caroline says:

    Elyn, all your CNY cookies are superb and tempting! Can I sample each one of them? 🙂
    Wishing you and your family “Gong Xi Fa Cai”!
    May you be prosperous and happy always.

  3. You Fei says:

    Hi Elyn,

    I wanted to get a kueh baulu mould too, but don’t really wanna buy those heavy type ones.

    Yours sounds like something i’m interested it =p May I ask where did you get it from?

  4. Elyn says:

    Hi Smallsmallbaker, thanks for your kind words! I like your cashew cookie too but I don’t think I have time to do it this year, I even bought the cashew nut already. Happy Niu Year to you too!

    Hi Caroline, thanks for your compliments 🙂 Happy Niu Year to you and your family too!

    Hi Youfei, I got it from Gim Hin Lee (Haig Road) but I remember seeing at Phoon Huat too, it’s much cheaper than the heavy cast iron one.

  5. You Fei says:

    Hi Elyn,

    Thanks! But I think I’d probably only try it after new year. No time =(

  6. Nancy says:

    Hi,
    I have been reading and drooling over your beautiful presentation and interesting compositions of all your CNY goodies. Would like to thank you on your write up about pineapple mould, it solved my problem with plastic mould.

  7. Mag says:

    Hi, I chance upon your website and the Kueh Baulu definitely look good. I tried baking before CNY but mine was soft and it sticks to the mould. Could not get the crispy outer layer as mentioned in your blog. I used tapioca flour and also baked it at 200Deg.

    Will try your recipe.

  8. Elyn says:

    Hi Nancy, you’re most welcome!

    Hi Mag, did you grease your tin? I grease it after every 2 bakes. I’m not sure about the tapioca flour but understand that rice flour will keep the outer layer crisp.

  9. Mag says:

    Hi Elyn, Thanks for your swift response. Yes I did. Perhaps its the receipe that I used.

    I love your Kueh Bangkit design . Where did you get your cutter from?

  10. Shuh says:

    Hi Elyn,

    Thanks for your wonderful recipe, I tried making it today, my first batch stick to the pan, think its because I didnt grease the pan properly. The 2nd batch turn out ok with more grease. And it taste nice!!

    However, I do have the following question:

    1) What grease do you use? do you use the non-stick oil spray?

    2) How long can the crispy outer layer last? Mine turn soft after leaving to cool for 15 mins.

    Thanks again!

  11. Elyn says:

    Hi Mag, I got it from Lee Bee @ Jurong West but that was the last piece so I’m not sure if the new stock have come in.

  12. Elyn says:

    Hi Shuh, yes I use a non-stick oil spray. I kept the Kuih Baulu till 2 days ago and they are okay, I suspect your oven temperature is not high enough?

  13. Shuh says:

    Hi Elyn,

    Thanks for your quick reply, ya, I would also think that my oven temperature not high enough, will try again soon with higher temperature. Thanks!

  14. Elyn says:

    Hi Shuh, all the best to your next trial!

    • susan says:

      Hi, I have just made some but keep having problem with the cake sticking to the mould though I greased it well after each bake. what should I do to prevent it from sticking?

  15. Xabel says:

    Hi..I tried baking some today but it went overflow. Up to which point should I fill the mix? Can I grease it with margerin or butter?

  16. Elyn says:

    Hi Xabel, I will usually use an oil spray and lightly grease it. You should fill just 2/3 full.

  17. Xabel says:

    Also, I realised that my kuih bahulu was a bit hard..How do I make it softer? I remember there’s this softer and harder versions of kuih bahulu.

  18. Irene Low says:

    Hi Elyn
    I am going to try your recipe soon….is this crispy on the outside? You used aluminum trays to bake? Need to grease? I bot mine from Sun Lik.

    Lovely bakes you have!

  19. vanessa says:

    175g eggs is equal to 6 eggs?

  20. Elyn says:

    Hi Vanessa, it’s better to weigh the eggs but I think it’s only about 4 eggs for 175g.

  21. Elyn says:

    Hi Irene, I *think* it has a slight crisp outside. I use those few dollars aluminium mould to make. YES, you have to grease your mould otherwise it will stick.

  22. Elyn says:

    Hi Xabel, then it could be other recipes or they may have add ovalette inside to keep it soft.

  23. erin says:

    i just made some using this recipe. just wondering if it will become less crisp yet remain moist when it cooled down. i love the crisp, but somehow not used to the moisture. Is there any way to retain the crispness?

    thanks.

    • erin says:

      sorry to add on.. it becomes hard after a day. i love the texture when it just comes out of the oven. crispy on top and soft inside but it become not that soft today. =(
      i wonder what went wrong

      • Elyn says:

        Hi Erin, I don’t remember mine turning hard after a couple of day. If I rem correctly, the texture is still quite spongy. If you want those crispy ones, I think this may not be the right recipe.

  24. Melvin Chia says:

    I tried a few recipes an yours turned out the best.. But just to add, I baked 16min but flipped all my kuih over to brown the other side at the 6min mark, otherwise the bottom too brown, the rest of the kuih is pale yellow color..

  25. Elyn says:

    Hi Melvin, glad you like the recipe! This one is more spongy and I tried another recipe this year which is more like what is sold outside.

  26. Helen Lee says:

    Hi, Elyn

    I tried your kuih bahulu receipe, I like it. I like the texture.I a first time learner. May i get some advise from you. Why it turned out to be pale yellow colour and some are uneven bake n the 2nd tray worse it got burnt. Is it becos i did not control the temp. properly.

    • Elyn says:

      Hi Helen, if it’s pale yellow it should be underbake. Is your oven temperature even? Does it happen only when you bake this?

      • Helen Lee says:

        Hi Elyn Happy New Year. I did not try after this. I think i still not familiar how to control the oven. I will try again after CNY. Thank you.

  27. Melody says:

    Hi Elyn,

    Gong Xi Fa Cai! Your bahulu looks lovely! =)

    Since I am a 1st time baker, I tried your recipe yesterday as I don’t like those bahulu sold outside which are extremely dry & makes it so hard to swallow eating on it’s own. I had the same problem as Helen. Mine was pale yellow on top but bottom was kind of like over burnt (very brown). Next, the bahulu turned out to be very hard on the outside and inside was semi cooked. I set my oven function control to bottom, is that correct? Please kindly advice me what went wrong. Thank you in advance.

Leave a comment