Candied Orange Chiffon Cake

146

Have been using a microwave/convection oven this while and I’m sure those who bake do want a proper convection oven or a fan-assisted oven for better even heat distribution. The previous oven was bought in Yr 2007, for a while I could not remember when and had to check back the post! This is 38L compare to 34L but being able to fit 11″ x 14″ tray which means more bakes at a time and two trays at a go. Previously I had to bake 4 times for bigger cookies but I foresee I could make do with 2 times now! I could also seeing making a proper swiss roll now!

Rowenta has been a reputable brand for oven and they are Made in France. This model I have chosen is the Gourmet Precision Electric Oven (Model OC 7891) that comes with 5 cooking modes include grill/ bake/convection fan/pastries/defrost and 28 preset cooking programs. It comes with a cocotte that allows you to steam your food inside which also retain the moisture.

Oven temperature being one of the most important factor in baking, is accurate in this case. I had a problem with difference in actual temperature and the reading on the oven thermometer for the last oven. I preheat the oven for 10 mins and indeed it reaches 180 degrees as I’ve set.

So which is the first bake from the oven? Chiffon of course! I enjoy making chiffon and like the idea that it’s light on the palette.

Orange Chiffon 1

You can’t go wrong with orange bakes and since I added a bottle of Nielsen Massey Orange Extract to my shopping basket the other day, so it’s Orange chiffon and I top with Candied Orange Peel!

Orange Chiffon 2

Recipe can be taken from here.

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Cakes, Chiffon Cakes. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Candied Orange Chiffon Cake

  1. Hi joie

    I am thinking of purchasing this oven but on model OC7868 (Gourmet Intelligent).

    Cud you kindly advise me whether the Gourmet Precision Electric Oven (Model OC 7891) you bought and the one I am contemplating which both have bottom concealed heating elements, are they good.

    The reason I cud not make up my mind to buy the Rowenta oven yet was I am torn between choosing the concealed or exposed heating elements oven of other brands.

    Are you able to advise?

    Thank you.

    Blessings
    Priscilla Poh

    • Elyn says:

      Hi Priscilla,

      I think you’re refering to the one without the steam function? I haven really try the real baking yet so I’m afraid I can’t comment much. I’ve read rave reviews for Rowenta oven thou.

      • Thanks Elyn for the response.

        I was referring to the one w/o the steam bake function which I am considering buying in the near future.

        However, the one that you bought OC7891 has bottom heating elements concealed, I would like to know how good is the oven. Since, the heating elements are concealed, will the bakings be as good or will the heat strong enough? Overall, is your are you satisfied with your newly bought oven and does it have has hot spots?

        The OC7868 too has hidden bottom heating elements, hence, I am not sure to go ahead and buy it or to buy other brands without the concealed elements.

        Thanks.

        Blessings
        Priscilla Poh

      • Elyn says:

        Hi Priscilla, this model I got is the steam-bake function. The one without is in black color. I have not really test the oven yet, only baked chiffon, kueh bangkit and almond crisps. The air circulation is good, in fact more even than my previous one. I do realise the extreme corner nearer to the inside brown faster than the rest. I guess not putting them too close to the edge should solve the problem.

  2. Darren Ong says:

    Hi Elyn,

    Before using the rowenta oven for the first time, am I supposed to remove everything from the oven and set the temp at 240 deg for 45 mins under convection mode? Also, for the pretest, is the symbol for the convection mode the 1 with top and botttom lines without a fan? Thank you.

Leave a Reply

