Osmanthus Agar Agar

The sun finally show his smiling face after so many rainy days. As much as I prefer this temperature but it’s just too gloomy. You just feel depress and not wanting to do anything except laze in bed which I do not have the luxury and had to go back to work. But the sun came out too strong and fierce today! I was literally melting when I went out and couldn’t wait to go home immediately to have something refreshing and cooling so this is what I have prepare – Osmanthus Agar Agar.

I was first introduce to Osmanthus (桂花) when my Taiwan fren gave me a bottle of Osmanthus Honey, I prefer this light scent rather than Rose or Lavender which I feel it’s a little overwhelming at times. I tried Osmanthus Jelly before which is using Water Chestnut flour as the jelly agent but I find it a little “heavy” when bite into.

After some thoughts, I decide to try combining Osmanthus and Agar Agar together and I’m happy to report that the little Osmanthus flower has given the Agar Agar a pretty different flavour. I also like how the little flower stays at the bottom of the agar agar so when you invert it, it’s on top.

What you need :
13g agar agar powder
950ml water
210g sugar
2 tbsp Osmanthus Sugar
1 tbsp dried Osmanthus (could add more if desired)

To do :
1. Bring sugar, agar agar agar powder and water to boil on medium heat.
2. Stir mixture frequently to avoid thickening.
3. When it’s about to boil, add in Osmanthus Sugar and dried Osmanthus.
4. Leave mixture to boil and pour into moulds.
5. Allow mixture to cool slightly before placing in the fridge to set.

Notes :
– The Osmanthus Sugar 桂花糖 could be purchase from Yu Hua 裕華百貨 at Chinatown, Singapore at S$3 per bottle.
– The dried Osmanthus can be purchase from chinese medicine hall.

 

About Elyn

The joy of baking is seeing how much people enjoy them. I would love to offer these "joy" to you so drop me a note and we can discuss!
This entry was posted in Desserts. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Osmanthus Agar Agar

  1. Ida says:

    oOooOoOOoOoO…. i like!

  2. Ahem says:

    I think your family very lucky leh… Can always enjoy the fruits of your labour 🙂 But I’m too far far far away *groan*

  3. delia says:

    I think I’ll make these tonite as I’ve almost everything at home except osmanthus sugar, which I may opt out. During the CNY, I’ve tried making osmanthus cookies, also tasting very nice.

  4. Elyn says:

    Hi Ahem … yes .. u’re toooooo far far away already *grin*

    Hi Delia, the osmanthus sugar is one of the “problematic” ingredient cos it’s not easily available but I guess by adding a little more osmanthus flowers and by boiling it a while more, infusing the sugar syrup. It should be good enough too. If you dun want so many osmanthus flowers in the jelly, just drain away.

  5. lorrine says:

    Hi Elyn,

    I tried making the osmanthus jelly 2 days ago, hubby & the girls love it ! I bought quite a lot of dried osmanthus flower from 四马路 when I was in Singapore last month but I’ve forgotten about the honey from Yue Hwa so I made my own 桂花酱 using honey & rock sugar with recipes from the net. I only use 100g of sugar, 6 TBSP of 桂花酱, AROMATIC !

  6. michelle says:

    Hi there!

    Where did you buy your osmanthus sugar from? I would love to try this recipe. Thanks!

  7. Elyn says:

    Hi Michelle, you can buy the Osmanthus Sugar 桂花糖 from Yu Hua 裕華百貨 at Chinatown, Singapore at S$3 per bottle.

  8. gina says:

    Elyn, you can now get Osmanthus in syrup from Sun Lik. Going there is better, can get all your baking supplies. Yue Hwa, I only go there for my Red yeast. 🙂

  9. Elyn says:

    Hi Gina, thanks for reminding me. Now I rem I also saw it there but a different brand thou.

  10. huiping says:

    Erm. Hello. 😀 I am thinking of using this recipe for my Home Econs. test… I was just thinking….
    1. Is it okay if I use Rose Brand agar-agar powder??
    2. Is it like, I just make the usual agar-agar and then when it is about to boil, I add the sugar and the flowers? And stir some more?

    So….thank you. Btw, your recipes all look so cool! 😀

  11. Elyn says:

    Hi Huiping, yes … Rose brand agar agar also can. Yes, you have the right steps, when is about to boil, just add in the sugar and flowers. Yes, you should stir to mix well.

  12. huiping says:

    Hello, Elyn. Thank you for the reply. Just another question… the sugar I bought was in liquid-form. Is that alright??

  13. Elyn says:

    Hi Huiping, yes, that’s right. The Osmanthus Sugar is in liquid form.

  14. huiping says:

    So sorry!! Just wanted to ask you if I do not add osmanthus can anot..? Because I cannot find osmanthus in any medical hall. I think is China never ship in.. Also because the osmanthus sugar already contains the flowers. So if I just put 2 tbsp of the osmanthus sugar and another 1 tbsp, can? Or should I try to get the flowers and put them inside? I am so sorry..

  15. Elyn says:

    Hi Huiping, yes you could omit it but it will not be as fragrant and probably not as pretty. I bought them from Waterloo Street Hawker Centre the last time. The flowers in the syrup is kinda little and not as fresh looking.

  16. huiping says:

    hello, Elyn. I just finished making the agar-agar, but I replaced the flower with the flower in the sugar. You said that the flowers will stay at the bottom so when it is inverted, it will be at the top. But, my flowers stay at the top! Why is this so?? Thank you!

  17. huiping says:

    oops. sorry!! it has sort of sinked now. XD so sorry to disturb you!!!

  18. huiping says:

    I’m sorry to disturb!! But, could I use your photo of the agar-agar? I’ll acknowledge you. I need it for a school homework. 🙂

  19. Xueli says:

    Hi there,

    I tried making the agar agar today…its super yummy.. Thank you for the great recipe.

  20. Elyn says:

    Hi Xueli,

    You’re most welcome 🙂 Glad you like the dessert!

  21. angela says:

    why must u add Osmanthus sugar to the agar agar?

    Thanks

  22. Elyn says:

    Hi Angela, that’s more for the flavour.

  23. chumpman says:

    This recipe caught my eyes because I have all the ingredients in my pantry, so all I have to do is to take it out and make it. Love osmanthus of it’s unique aroma

Leave a comment